List of Solar Cities for which Sanctions/In-Principle approvals have been given by MNRE

The highest number of solar cities has been sanctioned for Maharashtra. Maharashtra got sanction for total 6 cities, out of which Nagpur is declared as a "Model Solar City" and Shirdi & Thane are declared as "Pilot Solar City"

| State | Solar Cities |
|-------------|-------------------|
| Maharashtra | Nagpur |
| | Kalyan -Dombiwali |
| | Shirdi |
| | Thane |
| | Aurangabad |
| | Nanded |
| | Pune |